Writing Myself into Bliss

If you’ve ever read or watched “The Secret,” you know that the power of positive thinking is purported to be…well…almost magical.  Now, now.  I know what you’re thinking.  You are thinking… Fine.  Maybe I don’t know what you are thinking, but I think there is something to this theory.  I have set a goal for myself, in the short term and the long term.  I have set up a writing retreat for myself in the mid-term.  So one of the secrets of the secret, is that you MUST convince yourself of the actuality of your goal.  If your brain believes it, then your life will align itself, somehow (magically?) to make it so.  Hence, you must present your goals in present tense:

I am a writer.  I am published.  I make my living by writing. 

Okay.  That’s cool, right?

Guess what I have to do now. 

Write. Write like my life depends on it.  Because it does.  If I don’t make it my life, I’m never going to create the reality of “being” a writer.  For now, I will write as much as I can in my spare time, I will carve out spaces in weekends to write, I will create a routine to write every single day.  My goals will be like stepping stones that get me from one side of a river to the other.

I can totally do this, and so can you

Here’s an exercise: 

Write a scene using color as a theme. 

I will post my results tomorrow.

(good luck!)

Leave a Reply

