Another Ending…Writing sdrawkcaB

I have this short story I want to submit to a the Austin Chronicle short story contest.  It’s not finished.  The deadline is SOON!

So, to force myself through to that ending, here’s the exercise I’m going to try:

Writing the ending I want first and then write backwards from there.  This exercise makes the writing more like solving a logic problem, or even a maze, but sometimes taking things out of chronological order gives you the freedom to write without thinking about “how am I going to get there?”

Of course, I will need to reorder what I come up with, and I will also probably need to do some severe editing after the fact…the word limit for this contest is 2500 words.  I am usually much more verbose in my stories…5000 word limits can be a challenge for me.

Since I know I have this limit, though, I think I am going to try another writing tactic–this one from from high school…writing on index cards.  This can help solve the non-chronological problem, too, because not only will the index card put a boundary on what I am writing, it can help with the “moving things around” aspect of reorganizing.

I am looking forward to this puzzle now.  I’ll let you know how it goes!

Leave a Reply

